How Can I Get My Drivers License Back in Florida?

“How can I get my drivers license back in Florida?”

Jacksonville License Attorney

Need help with your drivers license, call 20 Miles Law (904) 564-2525.

If your drivers license has been suspended, you probably want to know how you can reinstate it. If you want to get your Florida drivers license back, you need to know the reason that your license was suspended. You want to contact the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FDHSMV or DMV) to find out why your license has been suspended. For many people, their drivers license has been suspended due to unpaid Florida traffic tickets. When you do not pay your tickets, your license is suspended indefinitely. If this occurs, you will end up with late fees, and you will also be required to pay a D6 clearance. In some cases, your ticket may end up in collections. Traffic ticket fines are not the only fees that result in a suspended license if not paid. If you do not pay your court costs in certain criminal traffic cases, this could also result in a suspended license in Florida. Usually, when you pay your outstanding fines and fees, you are able to reinstate your drivers license, but there are other problems that may arise.

“I paid all of my tickets and court costs. I got my drivers license back. Now, it’s being suspended again. Why?”

As a Jacksonville drivers license lawyer, I hear this question quite often. When you pay your Jacksonville traffic tickets, you are convicted of the violation. This puts points on your driving record. Too many points will cause the FDHSMV to suspended your license for a certain amount of time. Florida Statute Section 322.27 gives the point system for Florida drivers license suspensions for one year or more. This law states:

(a) When a licensee accumulates 12 points within a 12-month period, the period of suspension shall be for not more than 30 days.
(b) When a licensee accumulates 18 points, including points upon which suspension action is taken under paragraph (a), within an 18-month period, the suspension shall be for a period of not more than 3 months.
(c) When a licensee accumulates 24 points, including points upon which suspension action is taken under paragraphs (a) and (b), within a 36-month period, the suspension shall be for a period of not more than 1 year.

If you have too many points on your driving record, a Jacksonville drivers license attorney may be able to help you remove these points from your record. If your attorney removes the points, you may be able to reinstate your drivers license. Call (904) 564-2525 to speak to a Jacksonville lawyer about your drivers license.

“What if my drivers license is being suspended for 5 years as a habitual traffic offender?”

Even it you are a Florida habitual traffic offender, your lawyer may be able to help you reinstate your license. I have represented people that paid off all of their tickets and obtain valid drivers licenses, just to receive a letter from the DMV stating that their licenses will be suspended for another five years. This is very frustrating for any driver. If this happened to you, you are probably thinking, “Why did I pay all of my tickets and late fees if my drivers license was just going to be suspended all over again?” You are likely wondering, “How did this happen? I did everything that I was supposed to do.”  To answer your question, this probably happened because you paid certain types of moving violations that resulted in convictions. There are traffic tickets that can be used against you to make you a habitual traffic offender. These violations are listed in Florida Statute Section 322.264. Section 322.264 states:

A “habitual traffic offender” is any person whose record, as maintained by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, shows that such person has accumulated the specified number of convictions for offenses described in subsection (1) or subsection (2) within a 5-year period:

(1) Three or more convictions of any one or more of the following offenses arising out of separate acts:
(a) Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle;
(b) Any violation of s. 316.193, former s. 316.1931, or former s. 860.01;
(c) Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used;
(d) Driving a motor vehicle while his or her license is suspended or revoked;
(e) Failing to stop and render aid as required under the laws of this state in the event of a motor vehicle crash resulting in the death or personal injury of another; or
(f) Driving a commercial motor vehicle while his or her privilege is disqualified.
(2) Fifteen convictions for moving traffic offenses for which points may be assessed as set forth in s. 322.27, including those offenses in subsection (1).

If your drivers license will be or has been suspended as a Florida habitual traffic offender, contact 20 Miles Law to speak with a Jacksonville lawyer with experience.  Call (904) 564-2525.

 

Comments are closed.