What do you do when you receive a Jacksonville traffic ticket? Do you pay the citation? Do you take driving school? Do you hire a Jacksonville ticket lawyer? The first question that you need to ask yourself is “What kind of traffic ticket did I receive?”
Moving Violations vs. Non Moving Violations
Did you receive a ticket for a moving violation or a non-moving violation? This makes a difference when it comes to points on your driving record. If you are convicted of a moving violation, you will likely receive points on your driving record. A Florida speeding ticket is a moving violation, and so are many other traffic violations that occur while the vehicle is in operation. Points may lead to an increase in car insurance premiums. When points accumulate on your driving record, this could also result in a Florida drivers license suspension.
Florida Traffic Ticket Point Scale
How many points will my traffic ticket put on my drivers license? It depends on the ticket. Most moving violation convictions result in three of four points. More serious traffic infractions may lead to six points on your driving record. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles gives the following scale to explain the point system:
|15 mph or less over the speed limit||3 points|
|More than 15 mph over the speed limit||4 points|
|Speeding resulting in an crash||6 points|
|Moving violation (includes driving during restricted hours and parking on a highway outside the limits of a municipality)||3 points|
|Moving violation resulting in a crash||4 points|
|Failing to stop at a traffic signal (effective October 1, 2005)||4 points|
|Passing a stopped school bus||4 points|
|Reckless driving||4 points|
|Leaving the scene of a crash resulting in property damage of more than $50||6 points|
|Improper lane change||3 points|
|Violation of a traffic control sign/device||4 points|
|Open container as an operator||3 points|
|Child restraint violation||3 points|
Florida Drivers License Suspended for Points
What happens if you have too many points? Your drivers license will be suspended for a certain time period. Florida Statute Section 322.27(3) is the law that tells you how many points will result in your license being suspended. This Florida drivers license law states:
(a) When a licensee accumulates 12 points within a 12-month period, the period of suspension shall be for not more than 30 days.
(b) When a licensee accumulates 18 points, including points upon which suspension action is taken under paragraph (a), within an 18-month period, the suspension shall be for a period of not more than 3 months.
(c) When a licensee accumulates 24 points, including points upon which suspension action is taken under paragraphs (a) and (b), within a 36-month period, the suspension shall be for a period of not more than 1 year.
Attorney Help for Traffic Ticket
Will a Jacksonville drivers license attorney be able to help me with my ticket? Probably. You would need to speak directly with the lawyer. To talk to a Jacksonville attorney that handles traffic citations in St. Johns, Duval, Clay, and Nassau County, call 20 Miles Law at (904) 564-2525 or send an email to Find a Lawyer. An attorney may be able to help you stop points from being added to your driving record or erase points that have already been placed on your record. Traffic tickets range from non-moving violations to moving violations. It is also important that you know the difference between a civil traffic infraction and a criminal traffic ticket. Some people receive a criminal traffic ticket without realizing that it may create a Florida criminal record. Read Difference Between Criminal Charge and Civil Ticket in Florida for more information. Even if you did not receive a criminal traffic citation, you may still need an experienced lawyer’s help. As stated above, too many points may lead to suspended Florida drivers license. Certain traffic convictions may cause you to become a Florida habitual traffic offender, which results in a 5-year drivers license suspension. A Jacksonville ticket lawyer should be able to help you with this.
Request Florida Driving Record
How can I obtain a copy of my driving record? If you would like a copy of your driving record, you may request one from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The DHSMV gives the following information about obtaining your driving record:
If you want to review the current status of your driver license, you can check that at no cost online by clicking here. You may purchase your own driver record from any driver license office, or tax collector that offers driver licensing services, or court clerks who provide this service, or from a private vendor. To obtain a copy of a driving record by mail, please submit the Driver License Record Request Form which includes the individual’s full name, date of birth or approximate age, social security number, Florida driver license number (if available) and the address where to send the record, along with the appropriate Driver History Records fee to: Bureau of Records P.O. Box 5775 Tallahassee, Florida 32314-5775.