If you were given a traffic ticket, a Jacksonville drivers license attorney may be able to help you. There are several different types of Jacksonville traffic tickets. They can range from non-moving violations to criminal charges. Certain Florida traffic citations may cause points to accumulate on your driving record. This could lead to a Jacksonville drivers license suspension. If you need help with traffic tickets, call 20 Miles Law at (904) 564-2525 to speak with a Jacksonville drivers license lawyer.
If you have received a ticket for reckless driving in Jacksonville, you may be facing criminal charges. The Florida Reckless Driving Law is found in Section 316.192 of the Florida Statutes. Section 316.192 states:
(1)(a) Any person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving.
(b) Fleeing a law enforcement officer in a motor vehicle is reckless driving per se.
(2) Except as provided in subsection (3), any person convicted of reckless driving shall be punished:
(a) Upon a first conviction, by imprisonment for a period of not more than 90 days or by fine of not less than $25 nor more than $500, or by both such fine and imprisonment.
(b) On a second or subsequent conviction, by imprisonment for not more than 6 months or by a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $1,000, or by both such fine and imprisonment.
(3) Any person:
(a) Who is in violation of subsection (1);
(b) Who operates a vehicle; and
(c) Who, by reason of such operation, causes:
1. Damage to the property or person of another commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
2. Serious bodily injury to another commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084. The term “serious bodily injury” means an injury to another person, which consists of a physical condition that creates a substantial risk of death, serious personal disfigurement, or protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ.
Careless driving is different from reckless driving. Florida’s careless driving law is in Section 316.1925 of the Florida Statutes. Section 316.1925 states:
(1) Any person operating a vehicle upon the streets or highways within the state shall drive the same in a careful and prudent manner, having regard for the width, grade, curves, corners, traffic, and all other attendant circumstances, so as not to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person. Failure to drive in such manner shall constitute careless driving and a violation of this section.
(2) Any person who violates this section shall be cited for a moving violation, punishable as provided in chapter 318.
A careless driving citation is a non-criminal violation, but it is still a moving violation. This means that a conviction will put points on your driving record. Too many points may result in a suspended Florida drivers license and/or increased insurance rates.