If you received a letter from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles telling you that your drivers license is going to be suspended for 5 years, it is probably because you are a habitual traffic offender. Becoming a Florida habitual traffic offender is easier than you think. It does not necessarily mean that you received too many Florida speeding tickets. It means that you received a certain amount of tickets within a certain amount of time. It also depends on the type of tickets that you have received. As a Jacksonville drivers license lawyer, I talk to a lot of drivers that are habitual traffic offenders. The majority of people become habitual traffic offenders because they have received three Jacksonville traffic tickets for driving on a suspended or revoked license. Most of them do not understand how they became habitual traffic offenders, because they paid their tickets. The problem is that when they paid their tickets for driving on a suspended license in Jacksonville, they were convicted of the offense. These convictions are being used against them, even though they paid the fines on time.
If your Florida drivers license is suspended or will be suspended as a habitual traffic offender, you should speak with a Jacksonville drivers license attorney that understands the law. You may be able to obtain a valid drivers license. Call 20 Miles Law at (904) 564-2525. You should also obtain a copy of your driving record, because it will make it easier for your Jacksonville lawyer to help you.
The law that applies to Florida habitual traffic offenders in Section 322.264. This law is listed below and tells you all of the moving violations that can be used to make you a habitual traffic offender. Florida Statute Section 322.264 states:
A “habitual traffic offender” is any person whose record, as maintained by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, shows that such person has accumulated the specified number of convictions for offenses described in subsection (1) or subsection (2) within a 5-year period:
(1) Three or more convictions of any one or more of the following offenses arising out of separate acts:
(a) Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle;
(c) Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used;
(d) Driving a motor vehicle while his or her license is suspended or revoked;
(e) Failing to stop and render aid as required under the laws of this state in the event of a motor vehicle crash resulting in the death or personal injury of another; or
(f) Driving a commercial motor vehicle while his or her privilege is disqualified.
(2) Fifteen convictions for moving traffic offenses for which points may be assessed as set forth in s. 322.27, including those offenses in subsection (1).
Any violation of any federal law, any law of another state or country, or any valid ordinance of a municipality or county of another state similar to a statutory prohibition specified in subsection (1) or subsection (2) shall be counted as a violation of such prohibition. In computing the number of convictions, all convictions during the 5 years previous to July 1, 1972, will be used, provided at least one conviction occurs after that date. The fact that previous convictions may have resulted in suspension, revocation, or disqualification under another section does not exempt them from being used for suspension or revocation under this section as a habitual offender.