Do you have a suspended Florida drivers license? Is your license going to be suspended as a habitual traffic offender? If so, you might be considering hiring a Jacksonville drivers license attorney to help you with your Florida drivers license suspension. An attorney might be able to help you prevent the drivers license suspension or reinstate your suspended license. Many people in Jacksonville and the surrounding areas cannot afford to lose their driving privileges. They need to drive to maintain employment and take care of their families. If you are facing a drivers license suspension, contact an experienced Jacksonville lawyer at (904) 564-2525 or send an email to Find a Lawyer.
If you are a habitual traffic offender, you should have received a letter from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. This letter told you why your license was being suspended for 5 years. It also told you that your license was being suspended pursuant to Florida Statute Section 322.27(5). This habitual traffic offender law states, “The department shall revoke the license of any person designated a habitual offender, as set forth in s. 322.264, and such person is not eligible to be relicensed for a minimum of 5 years from the date of revocation, except as provided for in s. 322.271.”
The letter from the Florida DHSMV will also tell you which Florida traffic tickets are being used against you to make you a habitual traffic offender. There should be 3 tickets or driving charges listed. The traffic tickets that are listed on the letter are also set forth in Florida Statute Section 322.264. This is the Florida habitual traffic offender law. The reason that 3 tickets or criminal charges are listed in the letter is because you need to have three convictions for certain offense within a five-year-period to be a habitual traffic offender. The qualifying offenses are listed below:
1. Jacksonville Driving Under the Influence or DUI or DWI;
2. Vehicular manslaughter;
3. Committing a felony with a car or other motor vehicle;
4. Jacksonville leaving the scene of an accident with death or serious bodily injury;
5. Driving a commercial vehicle without a Florida commercial drivers license; and
6. Jacksonville driving on a suspended or revoked license.
There is another way you may become a habitual traffic offender in Florida. You may also be a Florida habitual traffic offender if you are adjudicated guilty of 15 moving violations within five years. If you do not have a copy of the letter, you may request a copy from DHSMV. You should also obtain a copy of your driving record.