In Florida, a “Hit And Run” charge is known as leaving the scene of a crash or an accident. Florida leaving the scene of an accident charges are serious and may have criminal punishments. The punishment for a Jacksonville hit and run charge can include fines and jail time. The court may order a revocation or suspension of your Florida Drivers License. The severity of the crime that you are charged with will be based on different factors. Did your hit and run accident result in property damage? Are you accused of leaving the scene of a crash that caused personal injury? Different Florida traffic laws and criminal laws will apply depending on the circumstances of the car accident.
Invoke Your Right to Remain Silent and Your Right to Talk to a Lawyer
If you have been accused of being involved in a hit and run crash, call a Jacksonville “hit and run” lawyer for help at (904) 564-2525. It is very important that you talk with a Jacksonville criminal lawyer before you make any statements to law enforcement. A Jacksonville criminal defense attorney may help you avoid making any statements that can be later used against you during trial. Your Jacksonville lawyer can help point out any evidence that defends this Jacksonville traffic ticket or arrest warrant. If the police issue a citation or make an arrest, your lawyer can defend you against the criminal traffic charges
Duty to Exchange Information or Render Reasonable Assistance to an Injured Person
Florida Statute Section 316.062 is the law that tells you what you need to do if you are involved in a car accident in Jacksonville. If you are involved in an accident or crash that results in damage to another vehicle or if any person is injured, you have certain legal obligations to provide information and render aid. If you violate Section 316.062, it is a noncriminal traffic violation, but you can still be charged under the laws below. Be sure to provide your name and address and registration number of the vehicle that you were driving. If a police officer or person involved in the accident requests, show your Florida driver’s license. Report the accident to the nearest law enforcement agency or police station if any person entitled to this information is unavailable after the accident.
Duty to Render Aid Under Florida Law
You must assist anyone that is injured in a car accident in Jacksonville. This includes making arrangements for the person to go to the hospital if it appears that treatment is needed or if the injured person requests medical attention.
Leaving the Scene of a Crash Involving Property Damage
Florida Statute Section 316.061 discusses leaving the scene of an accident with property damage. If you violate this Florida criminal traffic law, it is a second degree misdemeanor charge. It may lead to 6 months probation or 60 days in jail.
Duty to Move a Damaged Vehicle to Avoid Blocking Traffic
If you were involved in a car crash, Florida law requires you to move your damaged vehicle if it is blocking or obstructing traffic. Many people will move the vehicle to a nearby location so that the driver can call a family member or law enforcement officer with no intention to “leave the scene.” Moving the vehicle to a nearby location to call for assistance or to prevent the vehicle from blocking traffic can be a defense to any criminal charge. Talk to a Jacksonville Leaving the Scene of an Accident Lawyer at 20 Miles Law for help by calling (904) 564-2525.
Leaving the Scene of a Crash Involving Personal Injury or Death
Florida Statute Section 316.027 addresses the situation when a driver leaves the scene of an accident or crash that involves personal injury or death. The Florida traffic law requires you to stop your vehicle at the scene of the crash and stay at there until you have provide information and rendered aid. If you violate this Florida law, it is a third degree felony, which may result in up to five years in a Florida State Prison.
Leaving the Scene of a Crash Involving Death
Florida Statute Section 316.027 also addresses the situation in which an accident results in the death of any person involved in the accident. If any person in the accident dies at the scene, the offense of leaving the scene is a first-degree felony and results in up to thirty years in Florida State Prison.
Leaving the Scene while Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
If you leave the scene of any accident involving death or injury while driving under the influence, then a mandatory minimum sentence of two years in prison is imposed by the court upon your conviction. You should talk to a Jacksonville DUI lawyer if you have been charge with driving under the influence. Call (904) 564-2525 for help with your Florida DUI charges.