If you have been arrested for driving under the influence in Jacksonville, you may be charged with a misdemeanor Florida DUI or a felony DUI crime. While most of the common DUI charges are prosecuted as misdemeanors, Florida also permits some Jacksonville driving under the influence (DUI) charges to be prosecuted in felony court. The most common Jacksonville felony DUI charges are:
- A third (3rd) Jacksonville drunk driving arrest within 10 years from any prior DUI charge in Florida or any other state.
- A fourth (4th) DUI arrest in Jacksonville or elsewhere.
- Jacksonville DUI causing serious bodily injury.
- Jacksonville DUI Manslaughter.
Your Jacksonville DUI charge is based off of the number of prior DUI convictions you have. There are minimum mandatory penalties for a 1st conviction, 2nd conviction, 3rd conviction and so on. The more Jacksonville DUI convictions that you have, the more severe the Florida DUI penalties.
If you plead guilty or no contest to a Jacksonville DUI for the first time, the fine can be anywhere in between $500 and $1,000. The can double based on you breath alcohol level (BAL) registering at least 0.15 and if you have a child in the car at the time of your Jacksonville DUI arrest. For your first Jacksonville driving under the influence charge, Florida’s DUI law states that you must complete 50 hours of community service. If you are placed on probation for a Jacksonville DUI or sent to jail for driving under the influence in Florida, your sentence cannot exceed a total of one year with no more than six months in jail. If the Jacksonville DUI crash causes property damage or personal injury, it could result in up to a year in jail and a $1,000 fine. A first Jacksonville driving under the influence arrest will cause your Florida drivers license to be suspended for 6 months to one year, and the vehicle will be impounded for 10 days, unless the your family needs it. In most cases, you will be able to get a temporary Florida drivers license or a hardship license in Jacksonville, but you need to attend DUI school. Even if you do not want a Florida hardship drivers license, you still need to enroll in the Florida DUI class to get your license back.
If you have been arrested for Jacksonville driving under the influence twice, a second conviction comes with double the fines, between $1,000 and $2,000 and $2,000 to $4,000 if your Jacksonville DUI charge is enhanced based on your breath test results or if a minor is in the car. Your Jacksonville DUI penalities will be enhanced based on the amount of time in between the first and the second Florida DUI. If the time between the first and second conviction for Florida DUI are within five years of each other, you must serve 10 days in jail, including at least 48 hours of consecutive jail time. If you have a second DUI charge in Florida, you can be sentenced to 9 months in jail. For a second Jacksonville DUI charge within a five years of the first Florida DUI conviction your Florida drivers license will be suspended for five years. You car will be impounded for 30 days for a Jacksonville DUI within five years of the first conviction. You must also complete Florida DUI school.
If you have a third Jacksonville DUI arrest, a conviction comes with stiff penalties if it occurs within 10 years from the second Florida DUI. A 3rd Florida DUI a third-degree felony is punishable by a fine of $5,000 and up to five years in prison. For a 3rd Jacksonville DUI within a ten year period, the minimum jail sentence is 30 days in jail, including 48 hours of continuous incarceration. If your 3rd Jacksonville DUI charge is more than 10 years later, the Florida DUI sentence is up to a year in jail, without a mandatory sentence, and a fine between $2,000 and $5,000. If you breath test result is 0.15 or more, the DUI fine is $4,000. A 3rd DUI will result in a 10 year suspended drivers license in Florida, and your car will be impounded for 90 days (either after or before your jail sentence). You must also complete Florida DUI school.
A fourth Jacksonville DUI charge has sever penalties. The Jacksonville DUI fines are between $2,000 and $5,000. If you are charged with Florida felony DUI, you can serve up to five years in prison. For a fourth Jacksonville DUI, your Florida drivers license is permanently revoked, and you cannot get a hardship.