If you have been arrested for domestic battery in Jacksonville, you know that a Jacksonville domestic battery charge is one of the worse misdemeanors that a person can be arrested for in Florida. In many Florida misdemeanor cases, there is not a mandatory probation sentence. For example, if you plead guilty or no contest to Jacksonville possession of marijuana for less than 20 grams of marijuana, you are not required to go to drug treatment as part of your Jacksonville probation. If you are placed on probation in Florida for Jacksonville petty theft, you are not required by Florida law to go through counseling. While the Duval County state attorney may request treatment or counseling as part of your Florida probation sentence for a Jacksonville possession of marijuana charge or a Jacksonville petit theft charge, it is not a mandatory part of probation.
There are some Jacksonville misdemeanor crimes, that will require a mandatory Jacksonville probation sentence. For example, if you plead guilty or no contest to Jacksonville domestic battery or Jacksonville driving under the influence, you will be required to be placed probation in Florida. Jacksonville DUI and Jacksonville domestic battery have mandatory probation sentences under Florida’s laws.
If you plead no contest or guilty to domestic battery in Florida, you will be sentence in accordance with Florida Statute 741.281. Florida Statute 741.281 is the Jacksonville domestic violence law that governs the Florida Batter’s Intervention Program (also known as BIP). Under this Jacksonville domestic violence law, if a person pleads guilty or no contest to Jacksonville domestic violence, he or she must attend the Florida Batter’s Intervention Program as part of Jacksonville probation for domestic battery. It does not matter whether the Florida criminal defendant arrested for domestic battery in Jacksonville is convicted or the adjudication is withheld for this Jacksonville domestic battery. He or she must attend courses as part of Jacksonville BIP.
Sometimes, a Florida criminal defendant will plead guilty or no contest to Florida domestic battery without talking to a Jacksonville domestic violence lawyer. That person arrested for domestic battery in Florida will not hire a Jacksonville Criminal Lawyer to work on the criminal case case. In some cases, a Florida criminal defendant will not hire a Jacksonville Domestic Battery Lawyer, because he or she just wants to get the case over with and take the Jacksonville domestic violence probation sentence that has been offered by the prosecutor or judge. While this does not sound too difficult, it can be.
When you are on probation for domestic battery in Jacksonville, you must sign up for BIP. BIP is a six-month Florida domestic battery program. The Jacksonville domestic battery probation begins with an orientation fee just to sign up for the Jacksonville domestic violence course. Then, you have to pay for an evaluation. After the Florida domestic violence evaluation, you will begin domestic battery classes in Duval County. You have to take the Jacksonville domestic battery classes once a week for 6 months. The Florida domestic battery classes can range anywhere from $10 to $50, because the cost of the Florida domestic battery course depends on your income.
Jacksonville domestic battery probation is usually for a period of 12 months in Duval County, Florida. Not only do you need to pay for the domestic battery classes, but you also have to pay for your Jacksonville probation. The Duval County probation office will charge a monthly fee for the cost of supervision while you are on probation for domestic battery in Jacksonville. Also, you will need to pay for Duval County court costs. If you cannot complete your Florida probation or you violate your probation in Jacksonville, you will be arrested for Jacksonville violation of probation. If you are on probation for domestic battery and believe that you may violate your probation in Jacksonville, talk to a Jacksonville Criminal Defense Lawyer about your case and ask about early termination of your probation in Florida.
In some Jacksonville domestic battery cases, Florida probation to complete BIP may be the proper sentence, but every domestic violence case is different. Not everyone accused of domestic violence in Florida deserves the same sentence. The are people that are falsely accused of domestic battery in Jacksonville. It is important to talk to your Jacksonville criminal defense attorney about your domestic violence case or your Jacksonville violation of probation. A criminal lawyer in Jacksonville can help you understand your options in a Florida domestic battery case. Call 20 Miles Law to talk to a lawyer in Jacksonville.