As a Jacksonville drivers license lawyer, I have seen Florida drivers licenses suspended for a variety of reasons. Normally, when a Florida drivers license is suspended, it is because the driver received a Florida speeding ticket. If you have received a speeding ticket in Duval, Clay, St. Johns, or any other county in Florida, you may be wondering, “What if I don’t pay my Florida speeding ticket?” If you do not pay a Florida speeding ticket, your Jacksonville drivers license will be suspended indefinitely. In most Jacksonville traffic ticket cases, a driver that has a speeding ticket in Jacksonville will just pay the Florida traffic citation without ever talking to Florida speeding ticket lawyer.
If you have a Jacksonville traffic ticket, you are probably wondering, “Should I pay my Jacksonville speeding ticket or should I go to driving school?” Most people choose to pay their Duval County traffic citation or St. Johns or Clay County speeding ticket, because they do not have time to take the Florida traffic school. If you simply pay your Florida speeding ticket, you will be convicted and points will be added to your Florida drivers license. A Florida speeding ticket lawyer may be able to help you avoid points on your Florida drivers license without need to take traffic school. Before paying a Florida traffic ticket, talk to a Jacksonville traffic ticket lawyer about your citation. If you have too many points on your Florida driving record, your drivers license will be suspended in Jacksonville.
If you Florida drivers license is suspended and you are pulled over, you will receive a citation for Jacksonville driving on a suspended or revoked license. Do not pay a Florida driving on a suspended license ticket without talking to a Jacksonville driving on a suspended or revoked license lawyer. A Jacksonville driving on a suspended license charge will be on your Florida driving record and will be used against you in the future.
You can also be arrested for driving on a suspended license in Florida. If you are knowingly driving on a suspended Florida drivers license, this is a criminal traffic infraction. In many Jacksonville driving on a suspended license cases, the police officer will write a ticket for driving on a suspended license with knowledge. Many people that get a ticket for driving on a suspended license in Jacksonville, go to court, plead no contest, and pay the court costs and fines for the Florida suspended license crime. Pleading no contest to a criminal driving on a suspended license charge without the advice of a Jacksonville drivers license lawyer is a terrible idea.
Jacksonville driving on a suspended or revoked license charges are the most common way that people get their Florida drivers licenses suspended for 5 years. If you receive 3 Florida suspended license convictions within 5 years, your Florida drivers license will be suspended for five years as a Jacksonville Habitual Traffic Offender (Read Florida License Suspended as a Habitual Traffic Offender in Jacksonville).
When it comes to protecting your Florida driving record, you should not wait until you receive a letter from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DMV or FDHSMV) telling you that your drivers license is being suspended for 5 years as a Jacksonville habitual traffic offender. If you have been convicted of driving on a suspended license three times within a five-year period, the Florida DMV will suspended your license as a Jacksonville habitual traffic offender. A Jacksonville habitual traffic offender lawyer may be able to help you before your Florida drivers license is suspended due to HTO (habitual traffic offender) status. If your Florida drivers license has already been suspended in Jacksonville, contact a Jacksonville drivers license lawyer right away at 20 Miles Law. Talk to a lawyer in Jacksonville about Jacksonville drivers license help.