A Jacksonville Habitual Traffic Offender is a driver with a Florida Drivers License that has been suspended for five years due to his or her Florida driving record. With most Jacksonville habitual traffic offender drivers license suspensions, the habitual traffic offender’s drivers license has been suspended by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV or DMV), because the Florida driver has received 3 driving on a suspended or revoked drivers license charges within in 5 years.
If you receive three Jacksonville driving on a suspended license convictions within a five-year period, your Florida driver’s license will be suspended for five years as a Jacksonville Habitual Traffic Offender. The Florida DMV will send a letter to you giving you notice of the exact date that your 5-year suspension will begin. Usually, the letter that the Florida DMV sends to you tells you approximately three weeks before the habitual traffic offender drivers license suspension begins. If you get a letter for the Florida DMV stating that your license is going to be suspended for 5 years as a Florida habitual traffic offender, you need to call a Jacksonville Habitual Traffic Offender Lawyer as soon as possible for help with your Florida drivers license.
You should call a Jacksonville habitual traffic offender lawyer as soon as you find out that your Florida driver’s license is being suspended for having 3 Jacksonville driving on a suspended license convictions within 5 years. Your Jacksonville traffic ticket lawyer will need to go to court for you to help you get your Florida drivers license back in Jacksonville. Even if the Florida DMV tells you that your license will not be suspended for another 3 weeks, a Jacksonville traffic ticket lawyer will need that long to ask for a court date about your Florida habitual traffic offender status. Be sure to discuss your Florida driving record with your Jacksonville drivers license lawyer.
As a Jacksonville Drivers License Lawyer with years of experience defending people charged with Jacksonville driving on a suspended license as habitual traffic offender, I know the consequences of this Florida driving crime. When your Florida drivers license is suspended for five years, you will likely end up driving while your license is suspended in Jacksonville. If you get caught driving on a suspended license as a Florida habitual traffic offender, you will be arrested for a felony in Jacksonville. Jacksonville driving on a suspended license charges will send you on a downward spiral, so you need to talk to a Jacksonville drivers license lawyer for help.
Your Florida driver’s license can be suspended for a variety of reasons. For most Jacksonville drivers, their license originally is suspended due to Florida speeding tickets. Instead of calling a Florida Speeding Ticket Lawyer about their case, they just pay the Florida speeding ticket causing points to be on their Florida driver’s license. If a Florida license has too many points, it will result in a Jacksonville driver’s license suspension. In some cases, the Florida driver does not pay the Florida speeding ticket, which also causes a Jacksonville drivers license suspension. Other Jacksonville traffic tickets can cause your Florida drivers license to be suspended as well. In order to protect your Jacksonville driving record, you should talk to a Florida ticket lawyer at 20 Miles Law for Jacksonville driver’s license help.
Florida Statute 322.264 defines Florida Habitual Traffic Offenders:
A “habitual traffic offender” is any person whose record, as maintained by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, shows that such person has accumulated the specified number of convictions for offenses described in subsection (1) or subsection (2) within a 5-year period:
(1) Three or more convictions of any one or more of the following offenses arising out of separate acts:
(a) Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle;
(b) Any violation of s. 316.193, former s. 316.1931, or former s. 860.01;
(c) Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used;
(d) Driving a motor vehicle while his or her license is suspended or revoked;
(e) Failing to stop and render aid as required under the laws of this state in the event of a motor vehicle crash resulting in the death or personal injury of another; or
(f) Driving a commercial motor vehicle while his or her privilege is disqualified.
(2) Fifteen convictions for moving traffic offenses for which points may be assessed as set forth in s. 322.27, including those offenses in subsection (1).