Section 812.014 of the Florida Statutes is the Florida theft law. This Florida theft law covers Florida theft arrests, including Jacksonville petit theft and Jacksonville grand theft charges. Under Section 812.014 of the Florida Statutes, if you are arrested for theft (including shoplifting), you may be charged with a Florida misdemeanor or Florida felony charge. In most Jacksonville theft cases, whether the Florida theft crime is a misdemeanor or felony charge will depend on the value of the goods that were taken and that are the subject of the theft.
Florida Statute 812.014 states that if the value of the property that was stolen is less than $100, the Jacksonville petit theft (Jacksonville petty theft) is a second-degree misdemeanor in Florida. As a second-degree misdemeanor, this Jacksonville petty theft charge is punishable by up to 60 days in Duval County Jail. That means that 60 days is the maximum amount of jail time that person charged with second-degree misdemeanor petty theft in Jacksonville.
Under Florida Statute 812.014, if the property stolen is valued at $100 or more, but less than $300, the Jacksonville petty theft is a first-degree misdemeanor in Florida. As a first-degree misdemeanor, this Jacksonville petty theft crime is punishable by up to one year in Duval County Jail, so 365 days in jail is the maximum amount of time that you may serve in jail for first-degree misdemeanor petty theft in Jacksonville. If you have been arrested for petty theft in St. Johns, Clay, or Duval County, talk to a Jacksonville Petit Theft Lawyer.
Florida’s grand theft laws also fall under Florida Statute 812.014. In Florida, you can be arrested for grand theft for stealing in Jacksonville, if the property that you are accused of stealing is valued at $300 or more, but less than $5,000. In Jacksonville, grand theft is a third-degree felony, which is punishable by up to 5 years in Florida State Prison.
The higher the value of the property stolen in Jacksonville that is the subject of the Jacksonville theft arrest, the more serious the Florida theft charges. For instance, if you are arrested for theft of more than $20,000 to $100,000 worth of merchandise or property, this is a second-degree felony under Florida’s theft laws. In Florida, a second-degree felony can carry up to 15 years in the Florida State Prison as a sentence for this Jacksonville grand theft. If you were charged with Jacksonville grand theft of $100,000 or more, you are facing a first-degree Florida theft charge. In Florida, first-degree felonies usually have a maximum sentence of 30 years in the Florida State prison. Due to the punishment and prison sentences for Florida grand theft crimes an the affect that Jacksonville theft charges will have on your Florida criminal record, you need a good Jacksonville criminal defense lawyer. If you are charged with grand theft in Duval, Clay, or St. Johns County, contact a Jacksonville Grand Theft Lawyer for help.
If you have prior convictions for Florida theft, such as Jacksonville petty theft, this can be used against you if you are being prosecuted for a new Jacksonville petty theft arrest. Under Florida Statute 812.014, your Jacksonville petty theft charges may be enhanced if you have previous theft convictions. This is known as Jacksonville felony petit theft. Therefore, it is important to tell you Jacksonville Petty Theft Lawyer about your Florida criminal record.